Environmental Engineering

 

Overview

The water resources and environmental engineering group performs multidisciplinary research in the areas of surface and groundwater hydrology, land-atmosphere interactions, hydrometeorology, contaminant transport and remediation in aquatic and soil environments, watershed biogeochemistry, solar and microbial fuel cell energy production. The faculty interacts with a broader group of faculty members that are affiliated with the Environmental Engineering Program and also works closely with the Center for Environmental Science and Engineering.

Degree Offered

Faculty

abboud0404 alexagrios manos1

 Nelly M. Abboud
Associate Professor
(203)236-9861
nelly.abboud@uconn.edu

 Alexander G. Agrios
Associate Professor
(860)486-1350
agrios@uconn.edu

 Emmanouil N. Anagnostou
Professor
(860)486-6806
emmanouil.anagnostou@uconn.edu

marina_web bagtzoglou_cr

 Marina Astitha
Assistant Professor
(860)486-3941
marina.astitha@uconn.edu

 Amvrossios C. Bagtzoglou
Professor
(860)486-4017
amvrossios.bagtzoglou@uconn.edu

 Maria Chrysochoou
Associate Professor
(860)486-3594
maria.chrysochoou@uconn.edu

Clarkson

 William W. Clarkson
Visiting Professor
(860)486-2450
william.clarkson@uconn.edu

 Amine Dahmani
Associate Professor in Residence
(860)942-2881
amine.dahmani@uconn.edu

 Zoi Dokou
Assistant Research Professor
(860)486-5023
zoi.dokou@uconn.edu

kirchhoff baikun_res liu

 Christine J. Kirchhoff
Assistant Professor
(860)486-2771
christine.kirchhoff@uconn.edu

 Baikun Li
Professor
(860)486-2339
baikun.li@uconn.edu

 Lanbo Liu
Professor
(860)486-1388
lanbo.liu@uconn.edu

mellor nikolo

 Jonathan E. Mellor
Assistant Professor
(860)486-0548
jonathan.mellor@uconn.edu

 Efthymios I. Nikolopoulos
Assistant Research Professor
(860)486-1799
efthymios.nikolopoulos@uconn.edu

 Malaquias Peña
Associate Professor
(860)486-2450
mpena@uconn.edu

vadas wang

 Xinyi Shen
Assistant Research Professor
(860)486-1799
xinyi.shen@uconn.edu

 Tim Vadas
Assistant Professor
(860)486-5552
timothy.vadas@uconn.edu

 Guiling Wang
Professor
(860)486-2298
guiling.wang@uconn.edu

davidwanik

 David W. Wanik
Ajunct Professor
(860)486-4215
dave.wanik@uconn.edu

Infrastructure

1. Hydraulics Lab

111_1119The Hydraulics Laboratory is located in room 114 of the F.L. Castleman building. The lab facilities are complete with a 4.5 m long hydraulics flume used in conjunction with a 12,000 gallon water storage tank, flow weir, Venturi apparatus, and an acoustic Doppler velocity sensor (ADV) and a rotometer. The hydraulics flume may be used for stream channel flow or engineered channels studies, as well as investigating flow through a simulated piping network.

 

2. Environmental Engineering Lab

The faculty members share a common space in Castleman 215 that houses major equipment, such as HPLC, GC/MS, AA/GF, IC, UV/VIS spectrophotometer, fluorescent microscope and others. Additionally, each faculty member has a variety of equipment in their own research space, such as ICP/MS, XRF, TOC analyzer and many others.

 

Research Sponsors

The Water Resources and Environmental Engineering group conducts research with the support of various federal agencies, including the National Science Foundation, NASA, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration and the (NOAA) and the Environmental Protection Agency. The faculty also works closely together with the Connecticut Department of Environmental Protection and local authorities to address the environmental challenges facing the state. Finally, the faculty pursues close collaborations with industrial partners for technology development, such as the collaboration of Dr. Li with Fuss O’ Neil in the field of microbial fuel cells.